SCIOPERO!

So, I got up early this morning and hiked three kilometres to the train station in order to begin my cammino from Rieti to Assisi over the next week. All was going to plan until my train made it to Terni where I needed to make a transfer to a regional train. I got off the train to look for my transfer and … SCIOPERO! 

This is a word you get used to hearing fairly often here in Italy – it means ‘strike’. It seems like no one strikes more here in Italy than public transit. I was wondering how I was going to make it the rest of my way to my starting point of Rieti but, good news, there is another train that they decided not to ‘cancellato’. So grateful! Praise God! Plus, I discovered a little statue of St. Francis in the train station – I am in the right place and all will ok! 

Well, until later. It looks like it is going to be a hot one! Here we go! Amen! St. Francis and St. Clare…. PRAY FOR US!

One thought on “SCIOPERO!

Leave a Reply

